Powerboat Advanced Course


Provides the skills and background knowledge needed by powerboat drivers operating by day or night in known or unfamiliar waters, the skipper's role and boat handling in more demanding conditions.

Course Syllabus Includes:-

Advanced Boat Handling
Passage Making
Pilotage
Meteorology
Rules of the Road
Emergency Situations
Night Cruising
Sector Searching

Entry requirements: Knowledge of navigation and chartwork to the level of Yachtmaster Shorebased together with the Intermediate powerboat course or equivalent driving experience. A First Aid qualification and VHF radio licence are also required.

Minimum age: 17

Maximum student / Instructor ratio 3 - 1

Commercial Endorsement Exam : Required if you wish to skipper an MCA coded Power boat up to Category 3 (20 miles from a safe haven, day and night). You will need a medical, sea survival certificate, 400 logged miles and 12 night hours (in addition to the sea time on the course). The cost is £100.00 for the use of our boat plus £185.00 RYA exam fee


2 Day RYA Course - Two days including night exercises

Price £295.00

Monday 16 December 2019

Monday 6 January 2020

Saturday 8 February 2020

Saturday 15 February 2020

Tuesday 3 March 2020

Monday 6 April 2020

Saturday 11 April 2020

Saturday 2 May 2020

Saturday 13 June 2020

Monday 6 July 2020

Saturday 1 August 2020

Wednesday 19 August 2020

Saturday 29 August 2020

Saturday 19 September 2020

Please call if you require course dates after these listed ~ If you have specific dates for your course, please call and we will try and accommodate you!