theory

RYA Yachtmaster Ocean Theory Course (Astro Navigation)


This is a course in astro-navigation and worldwide meteorology which also reveals the mysteries of the sextant. It assumes a knowledge of all subjects covered in the other shorebased courses. Subjects covered include:

1. The earth and the celestial sphere
2. The PZX Triangle
3. The Sextant
4. Measurement of Time
5. Meridian Altitudes
6. Sun, Star and other sights
7. Compass Checking
8. Satellite Navigation Systems
9. Great Circle Sailing
10. Meteorology
11. Passage Planning
12. Passage Making
13. Communications

Courses run for 5 days
Monday - Friday 9:00am - 5:00pm

Price £395.00

Next course dates available:-

Monday 13 November 2017

Monday 20 November 2017

Monday 11 December 2017

Monday 15 January 2018

Monday 19 February 2018

Monday 26 March 2018

Monday 23 April 2018

Monday 28 May 2018

Monday 11 June 2018

Monday 23 July 2018

Please call if you require course dates after these listed

( Accommodation available at a cost of £60 for the week) ! * Please see special offers page!!

Please call for more information.