Testimonials


Below is a selection of the feedback from Clients that have completed courses/charters with Cornish Cruising;

 
==============================================================================
 

We have recently returned from an awesome week’s sailing with Cornish Cruising thanks in no small way to Michael, our skipper and coach.  Michael was knowledgeable, very capable and engaging, in fact we could not have asked for more as nothing was too much trouble. His professionalism and understanding of our needs enabled us to have a great holiday whilst gaining an important yachting qualification. Gill and Graham (June 2017)

Just a brief note to say thank you for your sound advice and guidance during my ICC test yesterday. I learnt a lot.I enjoyed the day very much and look forward to putting what I learnt into practice. Thank you for your company and hope that you have a great summer. Peter (June 2017)

Jane and I had a fabulous time last week with Cornish cruising. I will certainly be recommending Cornish Cruising to other sailors who are serious about advancing their skills. Karl the instructor was first class. You can let him know that we are just about rested now. Some 36 hrs later. He was able to accommodate such a wide range of abilities in the students with ease. Mike (April 2017)


I had a great time this weekend and I'd like you to know that George did a great job of explaining and demonstrating concepts. He was also very patient as we tried to put what we had learned into practice. He was particularly patient with me given all the questions was asking IA (April 2017)

Hi Nick, Just a quick email to say thanks to Cornish Cruising I had a great trip to Brittany with George on Wheal Go George was a relaxed and confident skipper who has the ability to assess the personalities of the crew and their expectations, ensuring both an educational and enjoyable voyage Although we had light winds we sailed when ever possible and experienced 20 metre visibility ( or the lack of it) in fog, entering St. Peter's port on Guernsey, which was challenging to say the least, but at no time did we feel that George was not in control.I had the chance to take the role of acting skipper to Treguier, which reinforced my night pilotage considerably. Cheers Paul (April 2017)

Dear Nick

Firstly thank you for allowing me to re book the Day skipper course 6 months later, the course was brilliant and challenging, the mix of course members and the range of experience made the course even better for me, we all got on well! Karl gave very knowledgeable instruction and covered  all aspects of the course very well and more. A big thank you to Karl for a great enjoyable week, and to everyone at Cornish Cruising. Regards Tim (April 2017)

 Very enjoyable and I learnt a lot from the two weeks. Doing the theory and the practical back to back was very useful to cement the learning. Paul (March 2017)

 Hi Nick,

I have just come back from the Scillys with skipper Mark on Alcyone. Just like to say what a tremendous time I had. I only had a week but I feel I've been away for a month! I would like to pay particular tribute to our skipper Mark.  Mark was superb all week. My sailing experience is very limited. Mark's sailing knowledge and experience came shining through and I was in awe of him most of the time. I was coming out with all sorts of pretty basic questions for Mark all the time, about sailing and boats etc. Mark was happy to answer them all very patiently and I feel I learned loads. As with virtually every cruise I’m sure, there were a couple of wing nuts on board too but Mark played them all perfectly and kept everything manageable; very good politician.

Mark took amazing care over the details of our safety; I was very conscious that he was looking after us all very carefully all the time. He really opened my eyes to hazards which I did not know existed. Mark was great fun; witty and knowledgeable and made the longer passages very entertaining. Nothing was too much trouble; even making sure we got the best possible shots of the dolphins, for example. So all in all thanks very much. I shall go on and do my Day Skipper theory now and shall be in touch sometime when I've saved up. Tim (September 2016)

I wanted to give Cornish Cruising some feedback on my course last week as follows:

The facilities in the Marina were excellent. The boat was new, fully equipped and performed well under engine and sail.

Our instructor was Bob who gives clear explanations of the various manoeuvres  then demonstrates them to the students who each get to carry them out as many times as necessary to acquire the appropriate skill level. He has just the right touch of humour with firmness when required to weld together a happy crew from quite different personalities giving encouragement when required often with his down to earth sense of fun. In a busy week Bob also makes an effort to ensure that the students see the beautiful sailing locations such as the River Fal, St Just, Restronguet and St Mawes and the Percuil River. Super Boat – great Camaraderie – I heartily recommend Cornish Cruising and Bob as a skipper.
Mark (August 2016)

Very good course, although I have been sailing for many years and am only now getting some RYA courses under my belt, there is always something to learn. Tim our instructor was very knowledgable, and explained things in a calm and friendly manner, but he did not believe there was such a thing as a treacle mine in Cornwall! I will be back to do some mileage building towards eventually taking the coastal skipper exam , thanks for a great week. Dave (July 2016)


Nick, a note to say , what a brilliant time we had on Friday. Tim was an excellent skipper in all respects being very calm, very professional and having a great sense of humour but at the same time exhibiting expertise that indeed let us win this event (well on water anyway)

All of our party were very complimentary regarding Tim and we hope to meet him again . Karl (July 2016)

Great course, very good instructor - real Jedi of sailing  Anna (June 2016)


My friend Jane and I had a fantastic yachting experience aboard the "Me-Go" with young Scott as our skipper.  We learned about reading a chart, sailing steering tacking, safety at sea, using the sails etc etc.

Scott was patient with us two "ladies" repeating information as was necessary with tact and humour.  There was ample food aboard and Scott made a good job of keeping us well fed.  Thank You Cornish Cruising for a wonderful first experience aboard a yacht at sea.  PS they even got the weather right, nice warm sunshine with just the right amount of wind. Susan (June 2016)

Nick, Just a brief note of thanks for enjoyable course & well organised course. John & Freddie (June 2016)

Had a phenomenal the time with Cornish Cruising!!  My Instructor Mark was not only a stand up bloke, quick with a bit of humour. But also a very knowledgable and progressive teacher. Couldn't have asked for more. The rest of the crew were near on family by the end of the week! Couldn't have asked for a better bunch!

I applied for the course late notice and with a few added difficulties but the team at Cornish Cruising was both dynamic and accomodating.Had a fantastic week!  Thanks a lot team!! Can't wait to be back again!!! Oli (May 2016)

I’d like to say thank you to you and the team at Cornish Cruising, especially Phil he was a great help in passing my Yachtmaster Offshore Motor exam. I had a really good time for the three weeks that I was there in October/November last year and certainly learnt a lot, which was the goal. Ollie (April 2016) 

Just to say thank you so much for supplying our 4 Westerly ladies with such a great weekend.  The feedback was so positive from them all. They had all gained so much experience, confidence and at the same time, had a very sociable time. Please pass on their thanks to Mark, the instructor, who provided the team with a truly successful and memorable course. Rachael (April 2016)

I want to thank Cornish Cruising for arranging this most important course for me. Karl Mansfield was a very good and exacting instructor,who added immensely to my knowledge base.A measure of the success of the course was how quickly time went by.Karl's attention to the syllabus was very comprehensive,and it was satisfying to pass. John (April 2016)

I just wanted to say many thanks for a fantastic sailing week, despite the challenging weather.  Bob and Ian were both brilliant instructors, extremely knowledgeable and very patient, and I learned such a lot from them. Mark and Simon were also great First Aid and Radio instructors. David (April 2016)

Cornish Cruising have an inherent advantage being based in Falmouth with the waters of Carrick Roads on the doorstep surrounded by such beautiful scenery. That advantage would be nullified if the course wasn't up to scratch but that is far from the case. 

My experianced instructor Peter was always cool, calm and collected and exhibited considerable patience with someone struggling to master the ability to tie basic knots that he has accomplished many thousands of times!

It is such patience that is the hallmark of  excellent instruction that instils confidence in the student which is what I gained having completed the (thorough) course - now with the ability to be part of a functioning crew rather than just the onlooking passenger that I have been previously. Derek (March 2016)

Having completed very many shore-based courses, at a range of different sailing schools, over the years this was the first and only one where I came away certain that I could not have taught it better myself.  The course content is large for a single day, but it was well-taught, delivered in well organised and digestible segments, with ample time for discussion.  The practical drills were particularly well managed, and the teaching material was up to date and highly relevant.  Thank you and very well done. Sir Dusty Miller (March 2016)

Hi Nick,   Just a quick email to say thanks for everything down there. I had a great time and would recommend Cornish Cruising to anyone. I will do, in fact, as at least three friends are keen to do at least a Day Skipper course, and maybe further. Alex (February 2016)


Many thanks for an excellent Day Skipper Theory course. Bob (Grant) was fantastic and I have thoroughly enjoyed my week at Falmouth with Cornish Cruising. I am now looking forward to my Day Skipper Practical in early April and I sincerely hope I have Bob as my instructor again! With very best wishes - Matt (February 2016)

Just a quick note to say thanks very much for the excellent trip, made all the better by the skipper and my fellow crew.  It was a great experience and Karl did a fantastic job dodging the bad weather - phew!  Having dolphins bobbing up around us during a lovely starlit night was one particular highlight for me.  I feel that I have learnt a great deal - particular thanks to Carl.  I know that the others also thought it was good that Carl did not just ‘take over’ when we did not get things right, but made sure we got it right ourselves! Ed (January 2016)

Jane and I wanted to drop you a line to record our thanks, as proud parents, to you and your team for transforming our Scott from a young lad looking for a new direction into a skilled and confident Yachtmaster who will find his way in the world.

Cornish Cruising were recommended to us as one of the top RYA sail training schools in the country, which is true, but it turns out you and your team are more than that. Nick, you have been honest, straightforward and as good as your word in all of our dealings. Knowing you would sort anything that came up has been a great comfort to us. Coming from rural Perthshire, some 600 miles from Falmouth, accommodation and supported living were worries for Jane and I, but you assured us that Scott would always have a berth on a boat, that he would be with kindred spirits and (even more amazing) that he would learn to cook! And so it has proved to be. Not only has he made some good friends with the staff and students at Cornish Cruising and in Falmouth, but he often reflects happily on the interesting folk he has shared a boat with and the fun they have had on their various voyages. Plus, wonders of wonders, now not only will he eat peppers and mushrooms but he can cook a passable spag bol with them!

During the months he has been with Cornish Cruising, Scott has gained lots of skills, an impressive list of qualifications and, despite having just recently finished the course, already has several job offers. But the thing that family and friends have been most struck by is the respectful and courteous self-confidence he has gained through his time with you.To any other parent out there who have a son or daughter who are undecided on the best way forward for them or who wants to do more in their gap year than just travel, we would highly recommend the RYA Yachtmaster Development programme. If you are looking for a team of skilled RYA instructors and caring professionals you can trust, you should contact Nick at Cornish Cruising. The team at Cornish Cruising are not only skilled professionals but they have that rare knack of being able to create a positive coaching environment that gets the best out of their students and builds self-confidence.

Scott plans to make a career at sea, but whether he does or does not the self-confidence your team has brought out in him will help him get the most out of life wherever it takes him and for that we are forever in your debt. Please do pass on our appreciation to your team.

Graham and Jane Gibson Scott (December 2015)

Stepping onto a yacht for 6 weeks, sailing and living with people you do not know, was not a real concern to me has I am the sort of chap that can get on with anybody, the reason being I love sailing, which I have been doing since 1965, I am also an RYA Dinghy SI and Power boat instructor as well a a Day skipper, so this trip gave me the opportunity to demonstrate my skills and to gain a Coastal Skipper Certificate.

The crew were all asked why we wanted to come to this trip, For me after reading part of Helen McCarthy's story of when she done it gave me the inspiration to some day also do it and I had already sailed the South coast of England, across to France and been

dis- masted in the Bay of Biscay on a Tall ship, so lets go North for a change.

What made the trip so thrilling was the fact John the skipper,was very experienced  knew the sort of places to visit, Loch's  that you can not get to by road, Islands in the middle of nowhere. As I have never been to Scotland or Ireland before, this in itself would be an experience.

To sail through a wind farm, with the turbine blades turning was in its self daunting, but just one of the many challenges we faced and enjoyed. The whole trip was amazing, and like all boats problems occur, but nothing that as a crew member I could not fix, from re-wiring the winch electric switch to fishing out a trolley full of food and bottles or adult refreshments from the bottom of a mariner when the shopping trolley had a mind of its own.

The sights we saw from Dolphins swimming with the yacht, a glimpse of a whale to a Stag coming down to the waters edge while we were sitting having Breakfast.

I was asked a question from friends would I do it again for that amount of time, my answer would be yes, and to sail with Cornish cruising does give you the opportunity to gain further experiences, to instruct other adults during the voyage and to be given the chance to take the control of the vessel as after the first 10 days the skipper felt at ease because of our skills, and enthusiasm to just sail either by day or night.

Our trip took us through the Scapa Flow  to Stormness, which with an 8 knot tide showed how alert you need to be. We also came through The Crinan Canal as the skippers wife was meeting us to celebrate his 60th Birthday.

I was hoping that the yacht would have been fitted with a tracking system so that my family and friends could have followed our route. Underneath the mountains mobile phones do not work, and every 24 hours we were off to somewhere else, to visit or explorer, to talking to locals.

Many thanks to Nick and his team for such a wonderful opportunity, of the thrill  and the making of new friends Terry (December 2015)

I just wanted to say thank you, I've really enjoyed my time on the courses. Many thanks once again to you and the instructors. Arthur (December 2015)


I'd like to say thank you to you and the team at Cornish Cruising, especially Phil he was a great help in passing my Yachtmaster Offshore Motor exam. I had a really good time for the three weeks that I was there and certainly learnt a lot, which was the goal. Oliver (November 2015) 


Just to say how much I enjoyed the yachtmaster theory course last week - Simon is a fantastic teacher and I thought the whole set up was fantastic.  I wont hesitate to recommend to people. Stephen (October 2015)


Have just completed an excellent weekend own boat tuition with Andrew Perkins on Cupid with the brilliant support of your guys Phil and Tony. Olly (September 2015)

Hi Nick, I just wanted to pass on big thanks for the RIB course over the weekend which was well taught and good fun. Jan did a really great job and we had a fantastic time. He was patient and very clear in his instructions (and if we didn't do things right made us do them again till we were rock solid) and this inspired confidence but also enjoyment. He was also able to be flexible and gauge our aptitude, and hopefully we were quite quick learners so we were able to do some extra things  which we mihgt not have been able to do otherwise. He also made us laugh. So, all good. I have (this morning) recommended Cornish Cruising, and Jan in particular, to a colleague of mine whose (adult) children are also looking to do a RIB course.Best wishes and thanks again, Melanie (September 2015)


It is a year ago this week end that I started my YM fast track course how quickly time has passed I would just like to thank you for your hard work in organising the various courses and helping me through plus the help from all the instructors Bob, Karl, Phil, Pete Simon to name but a few Once I am back in the UK in the new year I will be in a better position to know what I want to do with my qualifications.Thank you once again Colin (September 2015)


Had 3 amazing weeks in Falmouth with Cornish cruising. We came for wind, rain, fog, historic sailing grounds, and good instruction... And we got it all! The quality of education was excellent and will happily refer anyone to the facility. Griffin (September 2015)


A very good week of Ocean theory with Phil. He made a supposedly difficult course seem easy. I would be happy to come back and do more courses in the future. Connor (September 2015)

I would like to thank you for a grand experience renting with Cornish Cruising and on the Wheel-Go. The boat sailed nicely, was roomy, and certainly made an impression – it had the tallest mast everywhere we went. We enjoyed sailing up the Helford River, grabbing a mooring ball the first night and eating dinner at the Helford River Sailing Club. The next morning we rounded the Lizard and sailed along the coast before cutting across the bay to St Michaels Mount for some awesome close up photos. Then we secured a pier at the Newlyn Harbor for the next two nights. We enjoyed walking to Mousehole, Penzance and touring St Michaels Mount. We sailed back around the Lizard and up the Fal to have dinner at the Heron Inn and tied up to a safe river pontoon for the night. We tied up next to another sailboat that moors at your marina and the English family knows the Wheel-Go well. They had kids my sons age so they played for hours and exchanged contact information. Thanks for a great experience – everyone wants to come back and do it again.Best Regards, Alan Kirk,Algonquin, Illinois Alan (August 2015)


Will was an excellent instructor and I believe was teaching us above Day Skipper standard.  He was extremely flexible to fit into who wanted to learn what and he made sure everyone had a fair go at everything. Despite being a young, new instructor, he had a great balance of professionalism, humour and old seadogness and I'm sure he will be able to go on and realise all his sailing ambitions.

We didn't find out that the boat we were due to sail was out of action with engine troubles until we arrived in Falmouth.  Luckily we were in the area for another week and Nick able to put us on a boat the following week and generously compensated us for the trouble.

Overall my son and I had a fabulous week and all my sailing enthusiasm has been re-ignited, much to my wife's concern. John (August 2015)


Thank you for a very enjoyable, informative and well instructed Day Skipper Course. I am now planning my next mile building cruise and my son is doing his Competent Crew next week. Many Thanks  Chris (August 2015)


I was instructed by almost all of the sailing instructors and would rate them all as excellent both in terms of sailing knowledge and teaching I would rate the Yachtmaster Development Course very highly indeed.  The boats, whilst not new, are all kept in good seaworthy condition.  The sailing area is absolutely fantastic in my opinion. Well done Cornish Cruising! Andrew (August 2015)


Hi Nick, I just wanted to say that I very much  enjoyed the VHF and First Aid courses over the weekend. Both instructors were excellent. Thanks also for finding me somewhere to sleep on Saturday night. I'm looking forward to the Yachtmaster Theory and Prep. in October. Mark (Aug 2015)


Absolutely great teaching experience, thoroughly enjoyed doing my Level 2 RYA powerboat licence at Cornish Cruising! Would recommend and hope to do further courses through Cornish Cruising!! Conor (July 2015)

 The yacht - Alcyone - was prepared and equipped very well. People were friendly and helpful. I can recommend CC to everyone who wants to sail in this beautiful if a bit demanding area. Petr (July 2015)

Having successfully completed my RYA Power Boat Level 2, I cannot recommend Cornish Cruising and then team any more highly.

My instructor Gary was extremely knowledgable and explained all I needed to know carefully and clearly.  A pleasure to be aboard with. Toba-Go with its 300HP engine was also a great part of the experience.

You may be able to find this and other courses for slightly cheaper elsewhere, but trust me it won't be worth it.  Cornish Cruising really are an exceptionally professional and accommodating team. 

 As a result, I will be looking to do my Day Skipper as soon as I am able. Dan (July 2015)


 
Last week my wife and I ,with 19 year old daughter Charlotte wanted a special experience for my father . Together we enjoyed a tremendous afternoon on the RIB . Skipper Jan demonstrated skill , knowledge and real interest in giving us a safe and truly memorable time . We enjoyed seeing beautiful areas around Falmouth  in a RIB that had comfort and performance .

Just wish we were on the RIB now .  Many Thanks . Chris and family (May 2015)


Just a brief thanks for an excellent VHF course on Sunday. Chris was very good and I appreciated the fact that you ran the course despite small numbers, Excellent. Martin (April 2015)

The trip was excellent particularly attributable to Phil's personality and knowledge. The boat was spacious with 5 people, clean and comfortable. The key think was the trip was fun, enjoyable and informative but above all I felt safe at all times even in the fog! Thanks to Cornish Cruising and particularly Phil, and i will be back again. Peter (April 2015)

Can I take the time to send a big thank you to all the staff at Cornish Cruising for the recent Mileage Builder / Seamanship trip to the Scilly Isles we took at Easter. After a few years cruising the same grounds between The Helford river and Fowey for our holidays it was time to learn some new areas and it could not have been more rewarding to go to the Scilly Isles. Karl was a brilliant and informative Skipper who took the trouble to find out what each crew member was hoping to gain from the trip and set about helping each of us with very differing abilities and experiance, nothing was to much trouble and he managed to make the entire trip feel as much like a holiday with friends as an education in Passage Planning and Pilotage around some very challenging cruising grounds. After reading varius cruising guides to the area we were quite daunted by the prospect but Karl taught us the where's and how's while still teaching us to keep a healthy respect for the area. The nights were just as much fun finding various and out of the way Pubs for a couple of pints before eating back on the boat amid many stories of past trips and funny anecdotes, so much so we were sad when it all came to an end to the point where we are thinking of next year to find even newer horizons. Again a great big thank you and hope to see you soon. Brian & Donna (April 2015)


An excellent course with a nice boat, helpful onshore staff and a fantastic instructor. Just four crew doing day skipper or competent crew course. Nick set the tone for a friendly course with a quiet but firm teaching style that suited us all. Highly recommended. Colin (April  2015)


This is just a quick message to say thank you so much for your day skipper theory leadership last week. I found elements of course hard and confusing in places and so really appreciated your patience, thoroughness and wisdom to get me through. I have a much better grasp on the navigation now and look forward to putting it into practice… through more exercises and on the water! All the very best and thanks again.  Rob (Oct 2014)


Thanks to everyone at Cornish Cruising that helped me along the way on my development program. I joined as a very rusty Day Skipper and with patience, flexibility and excellent training I achieved my ambition of getting my Yachtmaster Offshore ticket.  I am very glad I chose Cornish cruising because they supported me every step of the way.
Dom (Oct 2014)


Phil was a really good and patient instructor and very conscientious and knowledgeable. Me- Go is a good basic boat. It was an experience to go back to basics without aids like a chartplotter or autopilot and educational. The sailing area is fantastic and really beautiful and Falmouth marina is a very nice friendly marina.
The team at Cornish Cruising are great and it's all very well organised. I would recommend them highly for any type of sailing, whether a course, or otherwise. I was looked after very well and learnt loads. Jean (Sep 2014)


Absolutley fantastic Bob was excellent and made learning a pleasure. I have not stopped raving about my enjoyment. Many many thanks for a wonderfull course. Bruce  (Apr 2014)

 

Great course made by the quality of advice,  instruction and patience from Bob. I feel I learn't a lot which will enhance my enjoyment and safety sailing in the local waters. John (Feb 2014)


Just a quick note to say how much I enjoyed the RYA Cruising Instructor course last week, Bob was great,  his vast experience and friendly approach really helped take the pressure off, and our boat (Alcyone) was well equipped and sailed beautifully even in the F7 winds we experienced.  10/10 Cornish Cruising  

Steve (Oct 2013)

A most enjoyable experience, Phil was very knowable instructor, a real nice chap.  Highly recommended.
Shawn G (Oct 2013)

Fantastic week just had in the Scillies. Pete is a really good instructor, and great fun to be with. He also knows where the good pubs are - a fact much appreciated by our crew.
Great weather helped of course, and Wheal -Go is a very comfortable yacht to be on.

All in all, a great cruise & I would strongly recommend it, the skipper and the school.
S Mitchell  (Sep 2013)

Can you please pass my thanks onto John for the excellent work he put into the RYA Practical Day Skippers course last week. He is certainly a credit to Cornish Cruising. He covered all aspects of the course and sometimes more, in what at times were fairly windy conditions. John took a couple of photos on his phone and I hope he will be able to email these to me. Rob (Sep 2013)

Just a quick email to say how much we enjoyed our sailing course with John last week. We were all impressed with the calm and positive manner with which he gave his instruction/directions and the patience he showed us. We would not hesitate to have him again as our instructor (though I am not quite so sure he would be quite as quick to suffer us again)! He is a credit to your company.

We really enjoyed our experience with Cornish Cruising and would not hesitate to use your company again.  Chris and Alex (Aug 2013)

Just to say I had a fantastic week with Pete and crew exploring The Scilly's. I've not been there before and was wow'd by their charms.  Pete is a great skipper and wonderful company, a great asset to you.  Jack, after getting over his sea sickness, was great to have on board and shows lots of potential.  So... maybe, just maybe, I'll get to see Northern Brittany some time :-)  Probably be best to book a Scilly's trip... Thanks. David (Aug 2013)

Had an absolutely fantastic time, really nice people, and brilliant instruction, all in all an amazing week.
 Shame about some of the weather though! Can't be helped.... Angus (Jul 2013)

PV was an excellent instructor. I valued the way he quickly built upon strengths to instil confidence from the outset whilst discussing and observing areas for personal improvement to provide focused coaching, support and direction.

Overall an excellent experience under PV's direction. Will certainly recommend to others and will use CC again to further develop my own sailing competencies.  Thanks a lot Neil (Jul 2013)

Thank you for providing an excellent level of preparation.  I found Karl’s teaching style really excellent.  I started the week thinking there is no way I am going to be able to do this and finished the week feeling ready for the exam if a little apprehensive. I am now a Yachtmaster despite a dunking in the marina in the process! Sara (Jun 2013)

I just wanted to take the opportunity to say how much i enjoyed last weeks course. Our instructor Shaun was great, incredibly helpful, friendly and a pleasure to spend the week learning from. When the time comes for the day skipper course, which I really want to do I might see if I can get on one of his, although I’m sure you have many good instructors!

Paul (May 2013)


Used own boat for training of myself and my brother. Cornish Cruising were really flexible and helpful and the standard of instruction was exceptional. Now sailing with friends and feel quietly confident handling the boat and navigating, although the more you learn, the more you realise how much more there is to learn - more training booked! Nathan (April 2012)


My wife and I recently had the pleasure of two RYA courses at Cornish Cruising, namely RYA Day Skipper theory and practical. The purpose of this letter is to thank you and the instructors and assure you of their high quality.

Chris Jellis instructed our theory course and Dave Allen instructed our practical.

Both men were meticulous in their coverage of the syllabus, while sensibly flexible in its delivery. Their instruction was clear and well delivered. Both men modulated their instructional style and content in a manner appropriate to the varied needs of the students. Both had well judged senses of humour and personal styles, though of course very different from each other. I was very impressed by both of them.

Chris gave us quite a lot of homework and really made sure we understood what we were doing. He illustrated theory with examples from his considerable personal experience.

Dave seemed to live and breath sailing from the 0710 forecast in the morning to lights outs. Yet it was not in an intrusive or overbearing way, and he too had a long list of educational yarns.

Many thanks to you and your staff for two very fine weeks. (Mike (March 2012)

Just a quick line to thank you and Ian our instructor for an excellent course last week in Falmouth.

It was both  challenging and enjoyable and would certainly recommend your organisation to anyone.   The Helicopter highline manoeuvres was also an added bonus to the week!   

I will keep a review on the round UK at some stage  in the future ! Richard (Mar 2012)  


Just to say a big thank you to Dick Brook from Rupert and me for his excellent - and in my case, patient - tuition on last week's theory course.  We learned so much - thank you. Francis (Feb 2012)

Just a note to say thanks to you and your team for a great couple of weeks. Dick and Emily especially. Please pass on my gratitude and best wishes to all concerned. I thoroughly enjoyed the Day Skipper course and as I predicted the January weather provided some interesting experiences and challenges as I'd hoped. Darren (Jan 2012)

 

I would like to give a big thanks to Cornish Cruising for all the assistance, support and hospitality during my courses. I had a fantastic time and learned some extremely valuable things which will undoubtedly assist me in my future endeavors. I could not have entered my yachting career more well prepared, and I feel confident in my abilities in a way I would never have done without them.

 

Cornish Cruising is probably one of the best schools in the world for acquiring ones sailing competence, as the training takes place in a challenging environment and you are assisted by top-of-the-line instructors. The boats are as clean and well maintained as you would expect from a charter company, which says a lot for the sail-training "work horses" as they are. And there are few schools I've been in contact with that will go out of their way to this extent, to accommodate for the

students needs and requirements during the courses and exams.

 

I will recommend Cornish Cruising everywhere I go, both for pleasure cruisers and for commercial YachtMasters like myself. It is worth doing your course there, regardless of where in the world you live, as you will get the best experience, the most useful knowledge and the most excellent preparation for your yachting life.

 

A big thank you, I shall return for more! Marcus (Aug 2012)

 

A big thank you for your support during the course and most importantly your flexibility, even though I must have come across as trying at times. I found the last part from the motor and power stuff onwards most rewarding and I am soooo glad I finished the sail, with your encouragement, as well. Thanks a stack!! Please also convay a thank you to, Barry Hobbins, Pete Jones, Phill Summerville and Simon Adams for their guidance and instruction....it was of the highest quality and I know through them that my learning curve only starts now. Derek (Aug 2012)

 I learnt a lot during the week (I particularly enjoyed some of the navigation Shaun introduced me too as a bit extra over the normal competent crew requirements) and I expect to feel very comfortable crewing the next time I get out on the water. Will (Aug 2012)


I've given my week's course 5s across the board Nick, and deservedly so.

It was an epic week, top quality instruction, in fantastic waters and horrible weather conditions (just what I needed!).  CC's set up and

organisation is first class, and I recommend that anyone who is looking

for formal sailing instruction, should seek out CC first before all other schools! Colin (Jun 2012)

Our charter of Po-go from 19 to 26 May was a great experience from beginning to end.

The handover and handback were friendly and efficient. Po-go was safe and well-equipped (in-mast reefing, electric windlass, chart plotter and radar). Everything worked as it should. She even had smart blue mooring warps!

Thanks to Cornish Cruising we had a wonderful and unforgettable cruise to the Scillies.

 

Brian (May 2012)


I want to honestly say a big 'thank you' for your patience and everything you did for me. Even if my stay in Falmouth was a little bit long, it was a great adventure and the quality of all courses I had was excellent! I will definitely recommend Cornish Cruising and come back if I need to take the cruising instructor course.  Fabrice (June 2012)

I just wanted to thank you so much for being a fantastic instructor over the past 2 days – patient, knowledgeable, safe and for making everything simple – even the Spanish bowline! It was a pleasure to learn from you - Charlotte, Isabel and Lily are now committed sailors – along with me of course! I now feel confident in my own abilities and am looking forward to taking things further in the future knowing I have a firm foundation on which to rely. Richard (June 2012)

 

I would like to give a big thanks to Cornish Cruising for all the assistance, support and hospitality during my courses. I had a fantastic time and learned some extremely valuable things which will undoubtedly assist me in my future endeavors. I could not have entered my yachting career more well prepared, and I feel confident in my abilities in a way I would never have done without them.

 

Cornish Cruising is probably one of the best schools in the world for acquiring ones sailing competence, as the training takes place in a challenging environment and you are assisted by top-of-the-line instructors. The boats are as clean and well maintained as you would expect from a charter company, which says a lot for the sail-training "work horses" as they are. And there are few schools I've been in contact with that will go out of their way to this extent, to accommodate for the

students needs and requirements during the courses and exams.

 

I will recommend Cornish Cruising everywhere I go, both for pleasure cruisers and for commercial YachtMasters like myself. It is worth doing your course there, regardless of where in the world you live, as you will get the best experience, the most useful knowledge and the most excellent preparation for your yachting life.

 

A big thank you, I shall return for more! Marcus (Sep 12)

Great fun, felt confident in Pete (practical instructor) at all times, some very good weather providing some excellent teaching (and learning points). The theory week was very well put together, our patient instructor taught at the right pace for all of the group, with individual help where required. Will recommend to my friends and colleagues. Thanks very much for a professionally run course. More Fray Bentos needed for Pete V.


I'd like to thank Simon for a really great, if challenging week last week during my YM theory course, a great instructor, with an encyclopaedic knowledge, enviable CV and great teaching style.  Also a big thanks to Nick for the use of floating accommodation and for organising a great week.   I'll defiantly be back to Cornish Cruising for my YM practical and sailing transition and hopefully instructor courses.  Andrew P

 

 

Many thanks to Nick and his team for organizing my Yacht Master course in a professional manner with excellent instructors. If anyone is thinking of taking any sailing or power courses then look no further. I'm more than happy to recommend the team at Cornish Cruising. Thanks
Steve A - September 2012


I would still to make use of this opportunity to thank you for your patience and also for your encouragement during my program. The instruction was of the highest quality. Cornish Cruising has a bank of very qualified instructors who anyone can see loves every moment - well most of the time - teaching people like me how to sail. I think I thanked by name some of the guys who instructed me.

When I started in January, I have never set foot on a yacht before, let alone skipper or sail one.....even the language people spoke sounded foreign, never having been around yachty or boaty people before, now eight months on things are slightly different. Having now completed the Yacht Master Development Program successfully with Cornish Cruising I am confident enough to take any yacht, within spec obviously, to sea and sail it from point A to point B and actually get there! I had a great time, I was amazed at how much information I can take on in such a short time and then having the ability to apply it practically on the water....I down to the quality of the instruction I recieved. I also have to thank you personally for your felxibility and the ability to adapt my program, which at times must have been chalenging. Thank you. I had a great time nonetheless and already miss Falmouth. Derek (Sep 12)


Cornish Cruising is an excellent training centre which provides superior


I had a great time. I wasn't looking forward to it but wanted to kick myself into action. I needed coaching gently and it seemed to do the trick. I was relaxed with no expectations. I definately want to return to get in some more practice before I go out as "skipper". Fiona (Jan 2012)

Great day on a great boat with a mild mannered, patience and excellent instructor who allowed me to work through various exercises at my own pace John (Nov 2011)

We did the start yachting course at the weekend with Joe and we wanted to let you know how enjoyable it was. Joe was a great instructor and really made the trip both enjoyable and educational, teaching us in a relaxed and friendly manner. Thank you for a brilliant weekend, we will be recommending both Cornish Cruising and Joe to anyone interested in taking any of your courses. Jen and Darren (Oct 2011)

 

A great week. We all enjoyed it and will be talking about this experience for years to come. Bob is a brilliant instructor, passionate about what and how he puts across. A true credit to Cornish Cruising. Thank you. John & Family (Sep 2011)

Just a quick e-mail to thank you and Cornish Cruising for a great week on my Competent crew course. Could you also pass on my thanks to Phil who was an excellent instructor and a credit to your organisation. I hope to further my sailing experience over the next few years and will definately be using Cornish Cruising in the future       Darren (Sep 2011)

I would just like to thank yourselves and especially Tony, for a fantastic day out. He was kind, patient and helpful to a set of complete 'landlubbing' novices. A marvellous instructor. Thank you. Jill (Aug 2011)

What a fantastic week  ! ( 7th August  to 12th August) Your brief -" An enthusiastic husband hoping to encourage a reluctant wife". Mark and Emily not only managed to fulfil Johns expectations 100% but converted a complete novice , sea sick prone land lubber wife to some one who cannot wait to do it again. To sum up, a brilliant ,challenging and varied week ( helped by Peter and Rutger, the other crew members) Mark showed patience and expertise ,together with his lovely second in command , Emily, went the extra nautical mile! Thank you !! John & Andrea (Aug 2011)

Bob was excellent.  Not only was it obvious that he was incredibly knowledgeable and had great boat handling skills, but he was a fantastic motivator as well and, without him, I would never have sat the final assessment let alone pass it, so I am extremely grateful to him. Paul (Aug 2011) Yachtmaster Coastal Prep & Exam

 

Simon has taught me on both my Day Skipper and Coastal Skipper Theory courses.  He obviously has a vast experience and background in navigation and boat safety and, through his enthusiasm, I learnt a tremendous amount on both occasions. Paul (Aug 2011)

I was looking into doing the RYA development program last year.  After doing my research, looking into many different RYA training schools, I selected Cornish Cruising for a number of reasons.  Firstly, the quality of different Instructors that I would be trained by with their wealth of experience.  Also, the varied number of boats that I would be sailing. The trips that had been planned during the course were the Scilly Isles, Channel Islands, Northern France, London and Ireland.

I have now just completed the course and I was not disappointed. Cornish Cruising lived up to my expectations and more.

I have now started my first Job as a skipper delivering sail boats around the Med. Thanks to all the instructors and staff at Cornish Cruising I feel I have the confidence and knowledge I need. Martin (Jul 2011)

We had a great time, possibly helped by the weather.  Dave was a brilliant instructor, patient and knowledgeable, but also humorous and fun to be with, for throughout the 5 day course.  We'd recommend Cornish Cruising to anyone, we learnt so much more than the minimum and we've become really enthusiastic about the sport as a result.  Thanks! Richard & Gillian (July 2011)

Thanks to our instructor, Mark, who made the week a huge success. His knowledge, enthusiasm, stamina and ability to impart knowledge were all top drawer. Ultimately, he gave me the confidence to approach my Yachtmaster exam without fear, well almost.  A chuffing great week. Willie (June 2011)

Skipper Alastair gave us the confidence to sail in the  challenging conditions and although we didn't make France we sailed everyday, fantastic. Charles (June 2011)

We had a great day with our clients at the Savills Regatta on board You-go and the weather was very kind to us given the torrerential rain the previous day.  Mark was an excellent skipper and looked after us occasional sailors brilliantly Craig (June 2011)

Can I say how much I personally enjoyed the circumnavigation. The total professionalism of Carl and his seamanship in all circumstances was an experience I will not forget. I am sure Carl's departure from Cornish Cruising will be a huge loss to the organisation. Let us hope he may one day return. Bill (Apr 2011)

 

Phil was an excellent and very likeable instructor. I enjoyed the mix of skill levels on the course and will definitely be back to book mile-building weeks and the occasional day rental. Thanks very much for an enjoyable and educational week. John (June 2011)

Have recently returned from one of your cruises to the Scilly Islands which was very enjoyable with the weather proving it can be be a challenge sometimes !
However the gods must have been with us as when we arrived it could not have been better and continued so for the rest of the cruise.
We had Phil as our skipper and I would like to put it on record how much we all on board appreciated his attitude.He proved himself to be be an excellent skipper able to assess and manage the strengths and weaknesses of his crew. He was at all times calm and had our safety and well being foremost in his mind. He was able to make clear decisions as to passage planning assessing the input of the crew.He was able to balance his responsibilities as a skipper and still be excellent company and always knew the pubs to go to! I look forward to other cruises with your company. Alan (May 2011)

Just a short note to thank Cornish Cruising for an excellent course. It was enjoyed by all. Thanks also for enabling Ian and I to complete our Coastal skipper practical. I would also be grateful if you could pass on our thanks to our skipper Pete. He was a pleasure throughout, both as a trainer and as a crew member- an asset to your company.
Many thanks once again (Edward (May 2011)


Yet again the most fantastic experience all our needs catered for excellent value for money. Our skipper Phil took us through the week with expert guidance, patience and a wealth of knowledge. We would recommend Cornish Cruising for anyone considering a course in the future. Thank you Nick and Phil  Mark & Heather (May 2011)

Phil was a fantastic instructor. Tailored the programme perfectly - always encouraging - extremely knowlegeable - great fun to be with on what was a terrific week. Bill (May 2011)

I just wanted to say a big thank you to Cornish Cruising, I had a great time on the CC course last week -  I learned a huge amount from Mark and also really enjoyed it!  Carla (May 2011)

Just to say again what a good course it was, and how much we enjoyed it. Bill was a fantastic instructor and also very good company. The additional inclusion of Mike on board too was great, and the course really exceeded our expectations. Graeme (April 2011)

Thanks for an excellent week's instruction. Mark is one of the best instructors I've been taught by in any subject and I learnt a great deal from him over the week. The exercises he set were challenging but never threatening and I thoroughly enjoyed the course and came away with a real sense of achievement. John (April 11)


The week that I had with Cornish Cruising was hard work but very rewarding. Mark was very knowledgeable and friendly and could impart information in a clear concise manner. This was good for me as I had limited practical experience in sailing before.   Many thanks for letting me do the Heli Highline on Saturday morning. Colin (Mar 11)

Just a quick note to say what a great week I have just had with Alan Denham on the Ocean Theory course. He is an excellent teacher and really knows his navigation techniques. Malcolm (Feb 11)

Just a short e mail to say a big thank you, too you and Cornish Cruising for making the Day skipper theory course an enjoyable week, and credit to Dick who is a star and enjoyed all of his sea tales.
I look forward to seeing you all again on the 27th March 2011 when I attend my practical day skipper course, Steve (Feb 11)

Sorry to have taken so long to drop you this line but as you know it doesn't go away when you do, it just sits there lurking on your desk until you get back! Just a quick note to say thanks for arranging a superb months Coastal skipper course, instructors, boats, food and ambiance totally superb. You still have a bit of work to do on the weather though. Haven't got a certificate from RYA yet, is this normal or should I/you get in touch with them? Think I've got a chance to sail regularly on a Hanse 400 out of Fleetwood (exciting I know!) so I'll be back in 2500 miles time. You have been warned. Give my best to all there and have a great Festive Season, once again many thanks, Neil (Oct 10)


I had to write to thank all the skippers I have sailed with during my Development Programme. My sincere gratitude goes to Phil, Chris, Karl, Peter, Tim, Keith and Bob. I am also grateful to Nigel for the theory work, but I cannot forget to thank Nick and Carolyn for their organisation and seeing me through to a successful Yacthmaster Offshore Exam. The skippers and instructors have been to a man, first class and I reiterate my thanks to each of them, as they have all helped me enormously. I'd sail with any of them, anytime, anywhere. Not only do they all explain and teach to a very high standard, I would be happy for any one of them to take my boat to sea with my family aboard and know they would not only be safe, but have fun and come back with the knowledge they need to improve their sailing.

See my earlier comment about not going anywhere else for your training. I came back to Cornish Cruising, as I said I would; I am happy to report I'm very glad I did.
Phil (Sept 10)

I so enjoyed my trip with Cornish Cruising to the Scillies last week on You-Go.  Having been absent from sailing for a while I wasn't sure what to expect from a 'cruise' but needn't have worried and I thought the right balance was struck between hard sailing, learning and time ashore to enjoy the islands themselves.  It was great fun, Chris was throughout a patient, good humoured and professional skipper - he is so good at passing on his knowledge in a relaxed style and was always considerate of everyone's various needs.  Please pass on my appreciation for his hard work not least as wind and events weren't always in our favour!  Sarah (Sept 10)

Big thanks to all at Cornish Cruising for great experience I had when taking RYA Day Skipper course and the charter afterward. Special thanks to Phil - the instructor and the skipper. He was both a great tutor on the course and great company during the charter. Both the course and the charter at Cornish Cruising turned out to be a great value for money, I really got more than I expected. Thanks a lot guys! Vladimir (Aug 2010)
 
I would like to thank you for your consideration and help in achieving my long standing goal of Yachtmaster this past weekend. Living as I do in the Solent area there are some friends who have asked why I travel 200 miles to Falmouth to do my training when it is available locally at a similar cost. The answer lies totally in your personal approach to your business and the relaxed style of those instructors who you employ. The standard of service is always high, the boats well prepared and the food excellent. I have and will continue to recommend Cornish Cruising to anyone who is looking for RYA training. I will be back in touch perhaps about a charter, and next year to plan the next stage of my training. There is always something to learn. David (July 2010)

'A massive thank you to Nick and his team for making my Yachtmaster prep week and exam a success.  The instruction, the boat and even the food were all excellent.  A pod of dolphins escorted us out into the Carrick Roads on the evening of our exam. I would happily recommend Cornish Cruising to anyone who is looking for excellent instruction in conjunction with sailing in such beautiful surroundings.' Nick (June 2010)

A big thank you from Annie and myself for the instruction that you gave us - now 3 weeks ago.  You gave us really a helpful push forward in extending our boundaries and giving us wider horizons for the months to come.  We will want to go further in due course but that can come when it will and for now we have the confidence to be that much more adventurous.  Thank you so much for the time, patience and fun that you gave us.And thanks too for fixing it all up - and forwarding the paperwork that arrived safely. Duncan (June 2010)

Nick many thanks for a thoroughly enjoyable Day Skipper practical course. Keith was an excellent tutor and fun to be with. We all got on very well and have many memories.

Alan Wade and myself are certainly keen to charter a yacht from you sometime in the future. The south coast is simply stunning, interesting to sail and there are safe havens within easy reach. Our North Devon coast is a little inhospitable at times. Thanks once again. Garry (June 2010)

Hi Nick - back at work now and still rocking a little.  Just thought I'd like to drop you a quick email to let you know just how very much Rosie and I enjoyed our time last week on the Day Skipper Course.  The 5 days turned out to be the perfect mix of learning, good company and putting into practice our theory from the previous course.  The weather was great and Russel even better - we really appreciated his energy, enthusiasm and experience.  Please pass that onto him.  Thanks Nick, we'll be recommending Cornish Cruising for sure. Toby & Rosie (May 2010)

Having recently completed the circumnavigation of the UK I would like to say a big thank you to Cornish Cruising for a wonderful experience.
From arranging the booking to the arrival back in Falmouth everything has been truly first class. Nick, as always, nothing is ever too much trouble for you. You consistently provide a friendly, personal and professional service that inspires confidence from start to finish. The same attitudes and values are reflected in your staff and a few words of appreciation should be given to Karl, the skipper for a memorable 6 weeks. Karl, provided a blend of patience and professionalism mixed with a wealth of experience that secured trust in his sailing competence from the first moment. In addition to this he was approachable, friendly, supportive and always ready for a laugh.
“Cheers for the English Bitter, Scotch, Guinness, and more Guinness, Manx Brew, Welsh Whistle Wetter, and the Scilly Ales, Happy Sailing, Dude!”  And finally the journey, six weeks of sailing heaven in a well specified and equally well maintained boat. Fantastic, this trip had it all, visiting England, Scotland, The Orkney Islands, Northern & Southern Ireland, The Isle of Mann, Wales, and the Scilly Isles. Covering around 2000 miles in all types of weather and sea states has allowed me to develop my sailing skills whilst enjoying the trip of a lifetime. Exploring the incredible and stunningly beautiful coastline of the United Kingdom. Sailing to places that you have only ever read about, this was more than six weeks at sea; we had time to enjoy a trip along Brighton sea front on the electric tram. A sunny walk from Whitby harbour past the local Jet shops to the ruins of the historic Abbey. Lunch eaten onboard anchored off Holy Island in the Farne Islands, and a wander around Newcastle taking in the Quayside. A visit to the 5000 year old Neolithic village at Skara Brae, which is incidentally older than Stonehenge and the pyramids. The Ring of standing stones at Brodgar, the Churchill Barriers and Italian Chapel in the Orkney Islands.  Tobermory with its pretty painted houses and Distillery, a pleasant sail under the magnificent Skye Bridge. Strangford Lough, and Dublin, where the Guinness Factory tour was well worth a visit to see how the ”black stuff” is made before an evening spent sampling the product in The Temple Bar. The evenings entertainment provided by traditional Irish Folk music played by some of the many talented local musicians. Following a pleasant sail across the Irish Sea we arrived at Peel on the Isle of Mann. Taking a bus to Douglas and Laxey we visited the famous Laxey Wheel before catching the Electric Mountain Railway to the top of Snaefell. A bus ride back, via Ramsey, completed the tour which also appeared to take in most of the TT motorcycle race course.  Some scenic walks were by enjoyed by all along the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park around Dale, working up a healthy appetite for the succulent steaks served at The Mermaid Inn at St Mary’s on the beautiful Isles of Scilly.

These are only some of the shore based highlights; overall it has to be the sailing experiences that are best remembered. Some challenging weather in the English Channel, a sunny sail up the East coast to the Holy Islands before enjoying lunch at anchor off Lindisfarne.  Waking up on a warm boat to find fresh snow had fallen on the tops of the Scottish mountains that surrounded our anchorage for the night. Spotting Whales and Submarines in the crystal clear waters around the Hebrides. Sailing with pods of Dolphins and Porpoise in the Irish Sea and at the same time trying to identify the hundreds of sea birds we encountered en route. Name the landmark became a popular distraction, as we passed Beachy Head, Dover Cliffs, John O’Groats, Scapa Flow, The Old Man of Hoy, the shipyard cranes of Harland & Wolff, Bishops Rock lighthouse, Lands End, and others too many to name.
A truly memorable trip, if you love sailing then this is the one not to be missed. If this sounds like your idea of a great way to gain some valuable sailing experience, meet some fantastic people on the way and visit some of those places you only dream about, I can think of no one better to give you all this and more than Cornish Cruising.
Thanks Again,
Karl (May 2010)

I have spent the last 5 days on my boat (Jellykat) with your Instructor, John Chadwick, teaching and supervising the RYA Day Skipper Practical course. My 16 year old daughter and one of her school friends also came along to do the RYA Competent Crew course.

I just want to let you know that John conducted the course absolutely brilliantly. His warm, friendly and charming style immediately puts everyone at ease and allows him to share his vast knowledge and experience in a truly engaging way. He took a real interest in our development and even went as far as to teach and encourage the girls  to cook a fish pie and bake a loaf of bread, feats which they would previously have never contemplated. He encouraged us to take responsibility and push ourselves to our limits, but without our ever feeling anything less than safe and secure under his watchful eye. We left the boat with a real sense of achievement and enormous progress in our development. In 5 short days we became a competent crew with a growing sense of confidence. We are all very grateful to John for allowing us to explore and expand our seafaring abilities whilst at the same time having such fun. I can honestly say it was one of the best weekends of my life.David,  (Apr 2010)

I would just like to say thanks to Nick who always has a friendly and approachable attitude, he is very flexible  and will do his hardest to help.
the quality of training and instructors is second to none, I would also like to say thank you to Karl my instructor/skipper for the week, he had a highly professional approach to everything yet also being friendly and easily approachable. and was willing to answer any questions i had. i have also been highly impressed with the quality of the other instructors at Cornish Cruising. as they also have a professional yet friendly attitude to teaching.
I can quite honestly say that i would not think about going anywhere else for instruction and training as it is second to none and if anyone else is thinking about going anywhere other than Cornish Cruising then they would be a fool unto themselves. once again Many Thanks. Rhiannon (Jan 2010)

Great experience! A Must for every sailor! Well done!
Staff, boat, classroom, location, meals, tea, seals, cormorants, weather simply perfect!
Congratulations! See you soon for other courses and cruises! Franco (Dec 2009)

Just dropping you a quick line to say thanks for the support and help in gaining the Yachtmaster ticket. Having split the time over a couple of years, has made the logistics on your side not easy, but you managed to fit me in!! Also a big thank you to all the instructors who are all a credit to Cornish Cruising. (Special mention for Bob). Once again Thanks!  Kev  (Nov 2009)

Anyone thinking of going elsewhere for training. DON'T. The whole set up at Cornish Cruising is just so well run. Tom's instruction and teaching was faultless, allowing student development, practice and challenging knowledge and skills, while maintaining great humour at all times. I'm grateful to him for his professionalism this week.
The boat was superb; stable and safe, while responsive and exciting. Facilities on board were all we could ask for, clean, comfortable well equipped and very well appointed.
As a package, from management, to instructor, boat and experience. Absolutely top class; refer to opening comment, go with Cornish Cruising. I will be.
Thanks again.  Phil (Nov 2009)

I did the yachtmaster prep and exam week with you earlier this month. Would just like to thank you to your instructor and examiner. The course was brilliant and I learnt alot during the course. Andrew (Oct 2009)

This is just a note from us to say thanks once again for a fantastic 3 months on the Yachtmaster Developemnt Program at Cornish Cruising.  We chose Cornish over all the other schools we investigated for many reasons: your 4:1 student to instructor ratio; the excellent cruising grounds of the West Country; instructor experience; flexibility and individual tailoring of the program; boat selection; accommodation on shore-based sections of the course; value for money.  After our three months, I am happy to say that we were not disappointed in any of these areas.

We sailed on a wide selection of boats which was invaluable experience and something that we could not have had at many other schools.  All the insructors are exceptional having a wide breadth of experience and the skills to impart that knowledge to us.  Special mention must go to Bill, Martin, Allistair and Peter who worked us hard and gave us the ability and confidence to make the grade.  This is not to take away from our shorebased instructors all of whom were excellent.

Many thanks again for a brilliant experience and I'm sure we'll be seeing you again soon when we are looking to get to the next level or simply for some relaxing cruising in the beautiful West Country. Kat & Dave (Sep 2009)

Just a quick note to say how much both Amanda and myself enjoyed our week with you.

The Boat and the organisation was as near faultless as possible, and  I would like to particularly thank Bob, our instructor for the Yachtmaster Course. We will not hesitate to recommend you in future. Roger and Amanda (Aug 2009)


Just a quick note to say thank you for all the time and effort you all took to make my Yacht master development program a success. The teaching team, enviroment and atmosphere was light, professional, friendly and conducive to an enjoyable and complete learning experience and as you all know I was loathe to leave, but to your dread will be back in September to take my Cruising Instructor.
For anyone interested in taking the Yacht master development course, or any kind of sailing course with these guys, you would be a fool to yourselves to go any where else.
Yes they are in the far off world of Cornwall, but the journey is worth making to be taught by instructors that are at the top of their trade and an owner that never sleeps in an effort to bring everything he can to the client to provide an enjoyable, rewarding, concise, professional learning experience. The only problem being that you don’t want to leave. Tim (Jun 2009)

I'd like to pass on my sincere thanks to Cornish Cruising for my Day Skipper Practical Course with special thanks to the instructor, Bob. I learned an enormous amount and gained much more confidence in my knowledge and abilities.  I would highly recommend Cornish Cruising to anyone at any level, as a friendly and professional RYA training centre with the ability to tailor a course to meet the needs of individual course participants. Ann (Apr 2009)

I have recently completed the Yachtmaster Development Programme this winter (08/09) and wanted to commend Nick and his instructors for providing a course that was flexible, enjoyable and achievable in the short time frame. The staff were friendly and approachable and due to the varied students I was able to meet people from all walks of life interested in the same goal of learning to sail. Thanks again to all who made my experience memorable despite the weather!  Helen (Dec 2008)

I am just writing to say how much I enjoyed my course last week and that I achieved far more than I thought I would.  Barry, our skipper/instructor; enabled me to gain confidence in my crewing skills and belief in my own abilities.  Diana  (Nov 2008)

Please accept my thanks for the excellent course last week.  From start to finish the whole experience has been extremely well organised and very professional.  You have clearly managed to achieve the difficult, subtle balance needed to remain a freindly, family firm whilst still providing real top quality arrangements.  Roger (Sep 2008)

I wanted to write to express my thanks for providing me with such a fantastic five weeks' sailing as part of my Royal Marines resettlement.  I was extremely impressed by the quality of both your equipment and instructors, whom I found to be incredibly professional, knowledgeable and good compamy.  The fact that I managed to attain my Coastal Skipper MCA within this timeframe is clearly due to the quality of their tuition.  Tom (Jul 2007)

I would just like to express my thanks and appreciation towards Cornish Cruising for all the help and support you and your team gave me in passing my Yachtmaster exam.  I would especially like to thank Peter, our Yachtmaster instructor for the week, and say how very good he was at teaching us and explaining it in a very easy to understand, none complicated way.
  Rupert ( Mar 2007)

Thank you for making my Yachtmaster course schedule work and for the excellent service I have enjoyed as a client of Cornish Cruising.  I would not hesitate to recommend your company to others.
  Steven (Feb 2007)

I do not like sitting in classrooms and would normally lose concentration but with Kevin as our (ISAF) instructor that was never going to happen.  With kevin's knowledge and very hands on approach the course was the most interesting and informative course I have done and I would like to thank Kevin for opening my eyes to the very real problems encountered in a survival situation.  Fraser (Feb 2007)

Having successfully completed the Yachtmaster Development Programme last week, I would like to thank you and your instructional staff for a first class experience which delivered beyond my expectations.

I chose Cornish Cruising for my course partly for your location and range of sailing grounds, but was delighted to be taught by the most professional instructors I could wish for, and enjoy a culture dedicated to student learning, which you have established at Cornish Cruising. It was also a huge experience to sail with the many and varied other students, from whom I learned a great deal. Dave (Apr 2006)

We found the course (IASF) provided invaluable advice and guidance which was geared towards the needs and aspirations of the participants. Kevin was extremely knowledgeable and presented the programme in a very entertaining manner. His knowledge enabled him to range widely across the subject of sea safety. The practical demonstrations on the boat and in the pool provided valuable experience which is often not gained in advance of a real situation.  We cannot fault the programme at all, on the contrary, we would recommend it highly to anyone. Colin & Jane(Feb 2006)

Just to say "Thank you" for all your help in taking me from a novice sailor, to passing my Yachtmaster exam.  All very much appreciated!  My special thanks go to Peter for his patience and determination in showing me that I could actually do it!  Helen

(Aug 2006)

I was really delighted to have discussed with you my needs to do the Yachtmaster Offshore Qualification, and even though i had already Circumnavigated Ireland in 2002, You found a program that fitted my needs to get me the Yachtmaster QUalification and then my Cruising Instructors Ticket.  I found your Instructors proffessional and willing, from the Classroom to Mileage Building, Your Yachts and Equipment First Class and you even arranged (apart from 4 Helicopter Lifts) some Heavy Weather Training, on several occasions when appropriate.  Thanks to you for all your efforts and the efforts of your Training Staff.
Karl (Aug 2006)
                                 
I just wanted to thank you and Cornish Cruising for such an enjoyable week sailing followed by another informative week of 5 Day Skipper Theory course.  The mileage builder from London to Falmouth was very well organised and despite a challenging time of year and less than ideal weather conditions the professionalism and skill of the skipper Barry and the thought and planning taken by Cornish Cruising made the week not only instructional but very rewarding in experience gained. The boat was first rate, the catering of a high standard and crew safety was thorough. The passages were well planned  and the skipper made sure that there was maximum crew involvement to ensure maximun experience was gained. Much fun was to be had during our time on shore to balance the rigours of a long sail. It has served to confirm my love of sailing.  The classroom work was equally professional and well taught. Dave was a skilled instructor who covered the material in a clear and knowledgeable manner. He was not only skilled in his knowledge but his enthusiasm for both the sea and sailing was contagious and made covering so much material a pleasure.

I will certainly be signing up for more cruises and also classroom based instruction.
  Desi (May 2006)
 
Thanks for another excellent course, and please pass on my thanks to Bob, too for his instruction. Julia and I have sampled various sea schools over the last 2-3 years and I have to say that the quality of what you offer is consistently above what we have seen elsewhere, from the kit, to the food and most definitely the instructors.  Peter ( Sep 2005)

Just a quick note to thank you for a really enjoyable and informative sea survival course on Sunday. Kevin delivered the course in a fun and interesting way which left me feeling satisfied that I had a good understanding of what to do in an emergency at sea. This is not the first SSC I have attended but it was the best. Ross (Jun 2005)